The Yogas or Paths

The Yogas or Paths

I regularly mention the various paths here and realized I’d not covered this here.

There are as many paths to Oneness as there are people. People exist to experience Self or source in different ways, so each has a unique journey.

But there are basic common means used and techniques developed for that journey. [Edited] Each of us has a dominant tendency. Many in the west for example are strong karma yogis. But each of us needs a little heart, a little understanding, a little body. Mind, heart and body all together gets us through the door.

In India, the standard paths or Yogas (yoga means union) are:
1 – Hatha yoga is the path of the body, what people often call “yoga” in the west. Yoga asanas or postures, breath work and similar practices are used.

2 – Karma yoga is the path of action and perception, of doing and experiencing. Many in the west are on this journey, refining consciousness by the act of living life and performing correct action.

3 – Bhakti yoga is the path of devotion, the heart or faith. This is the journey through feelings and love, through a relationship with the divine and prayer.

4 – Gyan or jnana yoga is the path of the intellect, the path of discrimination. Because of the close focus required, such people may tend to become monks but few in the west have this pure a calling.

There are also other more specialized yogas like Laya, the path of the warrior.

Meditation is a practice common to all of the above. A connection to source benefits all journeys.

Raja yoga is the royal yoga, a blend of the above. It combines elements of the Yoga and Samkhya schools. In Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras, he outlines eight limbs (astanga) of Raja in sutra (verse) 2.29:
(note – these are not steps but limbs – to be done together)

1. Yama (restraints) detailed in verses 2.30 & 2.35-39:
non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing/honesty, moderation (brahmacharya), non-covetousness
2. Niyama (observances) detailed in verses 2.32 & 2.40-45:
purity, contentment, tapas (warming, purifying actions), study and mantra, absorption in Ishwara (Supreme Being)
3. Asana (posture, see Hatha above)
4. Pranayama (regulation of breath, breathing exercises)
5. Pratyahara (sense withdrawal of mind onto internal practice)
6. Dharana (effortless focus of attention)
7. Dhyana (meditation – continuous attention, silence of the mind)
8. Samadhi (transcendent, via surrender)

In some traditions, a practice consists of asanas, then pranayama, then a meditation that blends 5, 6, & 7, leading to 8. Correct action and a complete practice thus cover all limbs.

Note how they are interactive. Through connection with source, contentment dawns naturally. Through moderation, meditation is better. Through practice we purify. And so on.

A number of people also consider Patanjali’s description of the experience of correct meditation – focus (Dhyana) – to indicate that concentration is necessary in meditation. Or that Dhyana is contemplation. However, concentration and contemplation both hold the mind in itself. They only lead to samadhi if the mind is exhausted by the practice. Adyashanti found great focus was necessary for his journey due to his very active nature but doesn’t recommend it for most. An effortless meditation allows the mind to transcend itself.

Finally, it’s useful to understand that at different points on the journey, different yogas become more important. Perceptions of Karma yoga are necessary for awakening. God realization is a heart centered journey. And Unity is in the end an intellectual realization. Thus, all aspects are part of our journey.

The key thing to remember is that it’s about the journey, not the result. It’s about what is happening now, not where and when we might arrive. As long as arrival is in the future, it will stay there. We can only awake now.


Last Updated on February 2, 2018 by Davidya

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.


  1. Pingback: The Reality of Divinity « In 2 Deep

  2. Pingback: Qualities and Quantities of Being « In 2 Deep

  3. Pingback: Awakening (Part 5/5) « In 2 Deep

  4. Pingback: What is Yoga? « In 2 Deep

  5. Pingback: Effortless Meditation « In 2 Deep

  6. Pingback: Divine Relationship « In 2 Deep

  7. Pingback: Enlighten Up! « In 2 Deep

  8. Pingback: Light on Beings « In 2 Deep

  9. Pingback: This Blog « In 2 Deep

  10. Pingback: More God Realization « In 2 Deep

  11. Pingback: Do You Believe in God? « In 2 Deep

  12. Pingback: Samskaras « In 2 Deep

  13. Pingback: The Battle to Surrender « In 2 Deep

  14. Pingback: Taking Care « In 2 Deep

  15. Pingback: The Yogas or Paths « In 2 Deep « Change from within

  16. Pingback: The 4 Immeasurables « In 2 Deep

  17. Pingback: Waking Down « In 2 Deep

  18. Pingback: What is Compassion Without Passion? « In 2 Deep

  19. Pingback: Practice after Awakening « In 2 Deep

  20. Davidya

    In some ways, we could say Raga Yoga establishes that the other Yogas are like limbs as well. All aspects of of the person, all aspects of the journey that together prepare the way.

  21. Pingback: Yoga Limbs « In 2 Deep

  22. Pingback: Why Yogi’s Don’t Meditate « In 2 Deep

  23. Pingback: How to Know God « In 2 Deep

  24. Pingback: Hard Yoga « In 2 Deep

  25. Pingback: Advaita « In 2 Deep

  26. Pingback: Householder and Monk | In 2 Deep

  27. Pingback: Pride and Humility | In 2 Deep

  28. Pingback: Male and Female Paths -

  29. Pingback: Yoga Articles -

  30. Pingback: Brahmacharya & Sex -

  31. Pingback: How We Know |

  32. In a 1971 Q&A, Maharishi Mahesh Yogi said that the understanding that we choose a specific path (Yoga) is a bad misunderstanding. While he does in other cases describe people as being intellects or devotional, in this case he emphasized what I spoke of near the end – that we all pursue aspects of all paths at different points on the journey.

    I would also add that we’re all blends. For example, many in the west have strong karma yogi tendencies but some are more devotional or intellects.

  33. Bojan

    Hi David.
    Yes, i agree with you, everyone has his own unique spiritual path.
    Few years ago i was in contact with one awake person from Serbia. His path was a combination of hatha yoga and Jung’s process of individuation.
    He said that for him hatha yoga was a preparation and the begining of reintegration of the repressed unconscious shadows. Later when he started meditating, hatha yoga was crucial for his safe and stable process of healing and reintegration. After Awakening, he continued with asanas, pranayama etc. for two reasons. One was physical health, the other reason was that this was just the way the Self expressed Himself through him.
    He was certainly very unusual person, however many people didn’t like him, because for them yoga was something not christian and that’s why “wrong”. I guess back then (and still today) many Balkan people were very ignorant about Yoga and other spiritual matters…

    1. For some, the spiritual path separates them from others. For others, the reverse. Or they have both in different phases. This comes down to karma and whats needed to see and resolve our attachments. We’ll see this in other areas of life too – work, money, health, and so forth.

      People with the same kind of unfolding can see very different responses from others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest