The Seven Spiritual Laws

The Seven Spiritual Laws

Many years ago, I read Deepak Chopra’s book “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success“. Last night at his talk in Vancouver, 2 different tables had little weekly reminder fold-out cards, a day for each law. Yet  the second one was “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Yoga“: the same laws from an Indian perspective, from a book that came out 11 years later, in 2005.

Here is the 2 sets, aligned:

( S = Success Law  Y = Yoga Law  C = Chakra )
The Yoga ones have a Sanskrit mantra. The page also has chakra images with a mantra. The chakras were not directly aligned but I will here for simplicity.

The Law of Pure Potentiality:
S: Take time to be silent, to just Be. Meditate for 30 minutes twice a day. Silently witness the intelligence within every living thing. Practice non-judgment.

Y: Om Bhavam Namah – I am absolute existence. Cultivate silence / Commune with nature / Practice non-judgment.

C: Crown, OM

The Law of Giving and Receiving:
S: Today, bring whoever you encounter a gift: a compliment or flower. Gratefully receive gifts. Keep wealth circulating by giving and receiving care, affection, appreciation and love.

Y: Om Vardhanam Namah – I am the nourisher of the universe and the universe nourishes me. Offer a gift / Acknowledge the gifts / Intention of circulating love

C: Third eye, SHAM

The Law of Karma:

S: Every action generates a force of energy that returns to us in like kind. Choosing actions that bring happiness and success to others ensures the flow of happiness and success to you.

Y: Om Kriyam Namah – My actions are aligned with universal laws. Witness your choices / Consider the consequences / Listen to the body

C: Throat, HUM

The Law of Least Effort:
S: Accept people, situations, and events as they occur. Take responsibility for your situation and for all events seen as problems. Relinquish the need to defend your point of view.

Y: Om Daksham Namah – My actions achieve maximum benefit with minimal effort. Practice acceptance / take responsibility / Be open to all points of view

C: Heart, YUM

The Law of Intention and Desire:
S: Inherent in any intention or desire is the mechanics for its fulfillment. Make a list of desires. Trust that when things don’t seem to go your way, there is a reason.

Y: Om Ritam Namah – My intentions and desires are supported by the universe. Be clear of intentions / Trust the outcome / Practice present moment awareness

C: Gut, RAM

The Law of Detachment:
S: Allow yourself and others the freedom to be who they are. Do not force solutions – allow solutions to spontaneously emerge. Uncertainty is essential, and your path to freedom.

Y: Om Anandham Namah – My actions are blissfully free from attachment to outcome. Commit to detachment / Embrace uncertainty / Step into the field of all possibilities

C: Hips, VAM

The Law of Dharma:
S: Seek your higher Self. Discover your unique talents. Ask yourself how you are best suited to serve humanity. Using your unique talents and serving others brings unlimited bliss and abundance.

Y: Om Varunam Namah – My life is in harmony with comic law. Discover your higher self / Express your unique talents / Ask: How can I help? How can I serve myself and others?

C: Root, LAM

Of course, the books explore each point in much more detail.

That back of the Yoga card has the Sun Salutation, usually a sequence of yoga asanas (postures). In this case, he lists 12 mantras in a similar style to the above. I assume each is done with each pose.

I’d be curious if these are semi-arbitrary assignments or if they arise from an Upanishad. Interesting to see models of success brought into spiritual yogic practice. Very householder of him.

Another detail of the cards was that each law was sequentially associated with a day of the week, starting with Sunday and The Law of Pure Potentiality. This is still more interesting if you recognize that the names of the week originate with the names of astronomical objects, based on an ancient astrological sequence used to define cycles of time*. (which is why they’re not in orbital sequence)

To illustrate, look at the name similarities:

1 – Sunday      Dimanche     Sun     The Law of Pure Potentiality

2 – Monday      Lundi        Moon    The Law of Giving and Receiving

3 – Tuesday       Mardi    Mars    The Law of Karma

4 – Wednesday  Mercredi Mercury    The Law of Least Effort

5 – Thursday  Jeudi        Jupiter    The Law of Intention and Desire

6 – Friday      Vendredi    Venus    The Law of Detachment

7 – Saturday  Samedi    Saturn    The Law of Dharma

I always like discovering patterns.  😉

* The Dasha sequence of Jyotish adds the moons nodes and moves Mercury and Venus after Saturn but in the same sequence.

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Chopra Center Vancouver « In 2 Deep

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest