The Last Surrenders

The Last Surrenders

Just as we’re composed of body, emotions, mind, intellect and ego individually, so too are we structured this way cosmically. Some cultures refer to the cosmic aspects as gods.

The I-sense for an individual person arises from the trinity of mind, intellect and ego. Mind makes the stories of a me and the intellect distinguishes self from other, leading to the I-sense and idea of separate self. In the absence of anything else, we become identified with that I-sense and self-story.

The cosmic I-sense or Self (atman) is the same. In fact, the individual version reflects the cosmic. When we have experiences of the cosmic, the attachments to a personal me relax and liberation ensues.

A similar process happens when we move beyond the cosmic into Brahman. Only now we’re surrendering the cosmic versions.

As I touched in the opening, there is correspondence between the individual and cosmic aspects and the eastern trinity of Shiva, Vishnu, and Brahma. They are the highest gods in the Vedic canon.

Shiva, the profound silence of the awake observer or seer, is surrendered with the Unity shift. Self wakes up to itself in the lively flows of creation. The silence of Self Realization is lost, replaced with a lively presence.

This happens a second time when the silence of Brahman is surrendered to pure Divinity. The guru of Shiva is Divine Mother.

Prior to Unity, the intellect (Vishnu) looked out and divided self and other. After Unity, the intellect recognizes Self in all things that arise in experience. I am that, and that, and that. The intelligence in all things is revealed as we are it.

A similar thing again happens with Brahman and ParaBrahman when we recognize there is only That. We surrender the flows of intelligence in Brahman and then Brahman into Divinity.

Finally, Brahma, the creator and cosmic mind, is the last to surrender. The cosmic (Atman) into Brahman and the knower of Brahman into pure Divinity.

We become the gods then surrender them.

PS: “last” is relative to the 7 stages model. If it’s not complete, this won’t be the last.  🙂

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.


    1. Hi Michael
      No. As I’ve noted elsewhere, ParaBrahman itself unfolds in a series of stages. I’ve heard 2 references to another state but it may be another name for ParaBrahman or a name for it’s embodiment, much like sat chit ananda is a reference to well-embodied Self Realization.

      I’m not expecting more for a human but it’s also never wise to say never (laughs).

      Even advanced texts like the Brahma Sutra are mainly concerned with the Unity to Brahman shift. There is very little that talks about anything more, though theres not a lot that can be said about what is beyond existence and the process of experience. 🙂

  1. Jim

    The reality of pure divinity is that it can be found in everything seen and unseen, just as the self is. So the nature of seeing divinity becomes all pervasive in Brahman, such that we can begin to act for all beings, or as many as can be fitted into our attention. This means the old model of teacher to student is transcended, and we begin to be able to act as legions of divinity, influencing this precious earth. Near infinity acting upon near infinity.

    Is there anything beyond that? 🙂

    1. Agreed Jim.
      As the source of the source it must inherently be universal. We can say it is everything without coming into being.

      And yes, what we can hold in awareness is the limit to breadth of influence. But that breadth can be great indeed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest