The Upanishads

While I don’t generally talk about books I have not seen yet, I wanted to share about an upcoming book. In my last post I spoke of the 3 primary books of Vedanta: The Brahma Sutra, The Bhagavad Gita, and the Upanishads. And how Maharishi has done translations and commentary on two of them, some yet to be published.

It turns out Dr. Vernon Katz, along with Sanskrit scholar Dr. Thomas Egenes, has covered the third post. They’re publishing a new book in June called The Upanishads: A New Translation by Vernon Katz and Thomas Egenes. It’s available for presale on Amazon. I was very pleased to see this.

If it’s anything like their prior books, it will become a new reference book for me and an addition to my Books recommendations. (tab above)

The last article spoke of Dr. Katz’s excellent Conversations with Maharishi, Volumes 1 and 2. He also worked closely with Maharishi on the Gita translation I’ve used as a reference for years. Even studied it in grad school and read the original in Sanskrit.

Dr Egenes wrote the primary textbooks for learning Sanskrit used in the English language. And he was my Sanskrit professor. He also wrote the excellent translation of the Yoga Sutra I recommend. And he was one of the authors of the book All Love Flows to the Self, a gorgeous compilation of some stories from the Upanishads.

I also unknowingly played a tiny part in this new books preparation.

Amazon doesn’t indicate which Upanishads are included but I would guess the 12-15 primary ones.

I look forward to the read.

Update: Just got my copy. Looking forward to the read. A quick skim of the opening Isha Upanishad is good – one word I disagree with. It does not have the accompanying Sanskrit like my fav Yoga Sutra translation by Egenes though. And curiously, it includes just 9 Upanishads. But still, I’m very happy for the work.

Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Upanishads

  1. Davidya says:

    See the Update – the book is available now.

  2. Davidya says:

    btw – the Sanskrit is very easy to come by so easy enough to compare.

  3. Davidya says:

    A footnote clarifies that this edition is the 9 shorter Upanishad. They plan a later edition for 3 longer ones, resulting in the 12 “primary” or earlier ones.

    There are extensive endnotes, some of which i would have preferred as footnotes.

  4. Davidya says:

    The breakdown:
    This edition:
    1. Īshā Upanishad
    2. Kena Upanishad
    3. Katha Upanishad
    4. Prashna Upanishad
    5. Muṇdaka Upanishad
    6. Māṇdūkya Upanishad
    7. Aitareya Upanishad
    8. Taittirīya Upanishad
    9. Shwetāshwatara Upanishad

    The second edition:
    10. Chhāndogya Upanishad
    11. Bṛihadāraṇyaka Upanishad
    12. Kaushitaki-brāhmaṇa Upanishad

    (the book sequence varies slightly from this)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *