How Many Hearts??

I’ve begun to lose track of how may hearts there are to open. (laughs) A few years ago, I wrote about the 4 hearts, then added one to it:

1 – the physical heart in the left chest
2 – Anahata, the heart chakra we meet on the rise of kundalini Shakti
3 – Hrit, the heart sub-chakra above the physical heart.
4 – the “high heart” or “soul thrill” sub-chakra behind the clavicle, between heart and throat.
5 – Hridaya, a higher octave of the heart chakra that opens during the later descent during God Consciousness. (sometimes also referred to as a 10th chakra)

These are discussed in more detail on the prior article and on an article about the Fleur-de-lis pattern across our chest.

There can certainly be various other kinds of heart openings as we clear crusts, release knots, and refine perception. But it turns out there are 2 other times the heart is a step in the process.

6 – during stage 1 of ParaBrahman, when Divinity rises up to the heart
7 – during stage 2 of ParaBrahman, when Divinity descends at a higher value

I don’t have names for either of these openings. But it’s been rare until recently.

Amazing how much potential our heart has. To contain our soul, unlimited love, an infinite space, and values of pure Divinity itself.

Tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Many Hearts??

  1. N says:

    Hi David,

    I have heard people like Bhagawan Nityananda and his teacher Sivananda Paramahamsa say that the home of the Self is located inside the head between the eyebrows. Other people have described it as being in the heart area.

    Do you have an understanding of why they describe it differently?

    I understand that the Self is not in one particular place, but maybe it has a primary entrance through a place in the body.


    • Davidya says:

      Hi N
      Yes, the Self or Atman aka self-interacting consciousness is universal and thus not located in one place. And yet, at it’s highest, we recognize that Atman is aware universally and at every point within itself. One of those points can be said to be what is experiencing here, in this body.

      There is a thread that comes in the top of the head and feeds the chakras. Depending on our relationship with those centers, we may experience the Self mostly easily in one or another.

      In your first example, the witness value is most easily noticed and experienced as being in the 6th or third eye chakra. As it’s also the center of subtle seeing, it may well be considered the “location” of the Self, where Self “sees” itself most obviously.

      On the other hand, the heart chakra is where the jiva (soul) resides during the life. The heart is a junction and fulcrum point that is key. We can most easily feel the Self here.

      In other words, if we’re a seer, we may lean to the first. If we’re more heart oriented, the second.

      This also may relate to where someone is in the post-awakening descent process. With Self-Realization, the “head” is more dominant for some. With God Consciousness, the heart is more dominant. With Unity, Self is recognized in the world so there is less of a localization and we’re less inclined to point here for the Self. Here is just an aspect of it.

      While Unity may have an associated gut release and Brahman a root grounding, they’re less oriented this way, so head and heart are the more prominent “locations” for the Self to be known.

      Make sense?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv - have your latest blog post linked here.